Skip to main content

Announcement of the 2017 Australian Invictus Games Team

Friday 23 June, 2017

Source: Senator the Hon Marise Payne, Minister for Defence. The Hon Dan Tehan MP, Minister for Veterans' Affairs, Minister for Defence Personnel, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Cyber Security, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC

It is an honour to announce the Australian team for the 2017 Invictus Games.

The Invictus Games is an international, adaptive multi-sports competition for current and former military personnel who have been wounded, injured or become ill in service.

Forty-three current and former military personnel have been selected to represent Australia at the 2017 Invictus Games in Toronto, Canada from 23-30 September.

More than 550 athletes from up to 17 nations are expected to compete in the games’ individual and team sports, including swimming, archery, cycling, track and field, sitting volleyball, wheelchair basketball, wheelchair rugby, wheelchair tennis, powerlifting, golf and indoor rowing.

As a nation we honour the service and sacrifice of the men and women who defend our freedoms and values.

And we respect the courage and determination of these Australian athletes who have trained, practiced and overcome adversity to reach an elite level of their sport.

Every Australian will be cheering on our team to succeed when they compete in Canada.

The 2017 Australian Invictus Games team is: Peter Arbuckle, PO Latisha Baker, David Bretherton, Chris Clarke, PTE Danielle Close, Mick Collins, Tyrone Gawthorne, Michaela Gilewicz, LCPL Samantha Gould, Tim Grover, Craig Hancock, SQNLDR Danny Jeffery, Jason Jinks, CPL Heidi Joosten, CAPT Emma Kadziolka, SIG Kristin Lane, Shaun Lawler, Michael Lyddiard, Scott Maclean, SGT Graeme Marshall, PO Ian McCracken, SQNLDR Paul McGinty, SPR Curtis McGrath, Jason McNulty, David Neagle, CPL Sonya Newman, PLTOFF Nathan Parker, Daniel Parker, PTE Christopher Rapson, LAC Wade Roberts, LACW Melissa Roberts, Garry Robinson, Darren Robinson, SGT Peter Rudland, Stewart Sherman, Sarah Sliwka, Tony Sten, Jamie Tanner, Richard Wassell, Sarah Watson, LCPL Gary Wilson, Jeff Wright, Donna Young.

The Australian Defence Force (ADF) and the Returned and Services League (RSL) are supporting a combined team to compete at the games. The athletes will be supported by dedicated coaches and a full medical and management team.

WordPress Lightbox Plugin